Suzio York Hill

Young Leaders Council Set to Celebrate 10 Year Anniversary

Young Leaders Council YLC MISSION

In 1992, the board of directors of the National Stone Association established the Young Leaders Council (YLC).  The need for an orderly transition to a younger generation of managers was seen as vital and could be successfully accomplished through development of future leaders.  The mission of the council is to provide a forum that enables young leaders in the aggregates industry to meet others, exchange ideas, discuss subjects of mutual interest and seek ways to promote the benefits and long-term growth of the industry through education, research and the legislative process.


The group plans events and activities of interest to the younger members of NSSGA.  The YLC’s extensive planning is most evident in the YLC Annual Meeting held every spring.  In addition to the YLC Annual Meeting, the YLC convenes during the NSSGA Annual Convention Congressional Awards Conference, Government Affairs Fly-In and the Midyear Meeting.  YLC steering committee members use this time to plan for future events and activities.


2002 will mark the YLC’s 10-year anniversary with “A Decade of Leadership” as the theme for the YLC Annual meeting, scheduled for May 3-5 in Key Largo, Fla.  The program includes dynamic motivational speaker Bill Dyer form Quantum Leap Resources, who will present “Motivating for Breakthrough Results.”  A former aggregates industry employee, Dyer will give his unique perspective and demonstrate ways for the new generation of leaders to be successful in the industry.  The schedule also features a team building activity and a TEA 21/grassroots session designed to show YLC members the benefits of being politically active.


The Annual Meeting in Key Largo pays tribute to the hard work and dedication of the original YLC members in 1992 that continues with the current members.  Former NSA Chairman Paul C. Mellott, Jr., H.B. Mellott Estate, Inc., was one of the driving forces behind the creation of the YLC.  Many YLC alumni have moved on to become leaders within NSSGA. The group’s first Chairman, Paul I. Detwiler, III, currently serves on the NSSGA Governmental Affairs Division Steering Committee and is active on the NSSGA board of directors along with former YLC Chairman David Wolfe who now serves as board treasurer.  1996 YLC Chairman Bill Sandbrook currently serves as NSSGA Government Affairs Division chairman.  Charlie Luck, IV served as YLC Chairman in 1997 and is a current ROCKPAC Trustee.  1998 YLC Chairman David McAuley serves as the NSSGA Operations Division Automation Committee chairman and 1999 YLC Chairman Steve Detwiler now serves as Government Affairs Division Grassroots Network chairman.

To commemorate this milestone, the 2002 meeting is open to all current members and alumni.  All alumni are encouraged to attend this exciting event in Key Largo.  Don’t miss it!

By Ric Suzio, YLC Chairman
Stone, Sand & Gravel Review